the Geulah and us

18 Mar

Dear God,

I am really an idiotic, selfish, self-absorbed, egotistical ego-orientated human being. I am nothing, I have nothing and I fail time and time again. I have learned not to trust my own dreams and ambitions for they are just extensions of my own egotistical whims. I am a terrible scaredy-cat and really don’t trust myself to do anything very much. So why me? Why did You pick me? Well, if I’m wrong (and I might well be, as I can barely trust myself sometimes) then it seems that my trials and tribulations are all part of a cruel joke. Something inside of myself cannot and will not accept that this is all ‘hevel havalim’. No, I’m here for a reason and time and time again you pick me….a chosen one? I guess so.

I ask God about specifics and I often get more global answers. So when I grew tired of global answers I asked again, what is it, God, that you want me to do? Today I got this pasuk (Jeremiah 3:12-17):

Go, and proclaim these words toward the north, and say,

“‘Return, faithless Israel,
declares the Lord.
I will not look on you in anger,
    for I am merciful,
declares the Lord;
I will not be angry forever.
13 Only acknowledge your guilt,
    that you rebelled against the Lord your God
and scattered your favors among foreigners under every green tree,
    and that you have not obeyed my voice,
declares the Lord.
14 Return, O faithless children,
declares the Lord;
     for I am your master;
I will take you, one from a city and two from a family,
    and I will bring you to Zion.

15 “‘And I will give you shepherds after my own heart, who will feed you with knowledge and understanding. 16 And when you have multiplied and been fruitful in the land, in those days, declares the Lord, they shall no more say, “The ark of the covenant of the Lord.” It shall not come to mind or be remembered or missed; it shall not be made again. 17 At that time Jerusalem shall be called the throne of the Lord, and all nations shall gather to it, to the presence of the Lord in Jerusalem, and they shall no more stubbornly follow their own evil heart. 18  In those days the house of Judah shall join the house of Israel, and together they shall come from the land of the north to the land that I gave your fathers for a heritage.


Me? Tell the religious that they got it oh so wrong and the faithless that they must find the true God? To battle against centuries of ingrained custom and habit? You got the wrong one, here.

But God stated it plain and simple. I can run but I simply can’t hide from the plain truth.

2 Responses to “the Geulah and us”

  1. אבי ו. March 19, 2012 at 6:52 am #

    The religious are so far from God and even worse that aren’t even feeling that they are lost.

    [Jeremiah 8,12] They shall be put to shame because they have committed abomination; yea, they are not at all ashamed, neither know they how to blush; therefore shall they fall among them that fall, in the time of their visitation they shall stumble, saith the LORD.

    הֹבִשׁוּ כִּי תוֹעֵבָה עָשֹוּ גַּם בּוֹשׁ לֹא יֵבשׁוּ וְהִכָּלֵם לֹא יָדָעוּ לָכֵן יִפְּלוּ בַנֹּפְלִים בְּעֵת פְּקֻדָּתָם יִכָּשְׁלוּ אָמַר יְהֹוָה:

  2. Eddie October 7, 2012 at 4:52 am #

    You are not alone. I don’t believe it’s really a matter of telling the religious they are wrong (even though they may be). They are in fact trying also. We all are.

    They just haven’t realized that they haven’t escaped the ego and the desire for power. They (some of them) may have renounced money, the desire for material things, and material power, but they have just switched the object of the ego’s desire to gather more. Instead of trying to have more money (material power) than others, they have switched the desire to want to be more holy than others… and they convince themselves that they ARE more holy than others.

    The problem is a human problem though. We all suffer from it. We are scared that we are ‘not enough’ and so we try to protect ourselves by gathering more or trying to be more. God loves us as we are… now if we could only love each other and look after each other, we wouldn’t need to feel so scared all the time.

Leave a Reply

