Link

we are all lost souls

8 Oct


Originally we had things straight. Until things failed to go according to plan, that is. God put us in the garden of Eden, a place where we were safe, secure and connected. Our Father was nearby, with an ever watchful Eye and we basked in his presence, as a child feels secure simply knowing his parent is nearby. God gave us, his children, one instruction; not to venture beyond the secure boundaries of His garden.
But we, as children do, wanted to ‘test’ our boundaries and we willingly abandoned the safety and security of Gan Eden. We ventured into a wilderness that had no resemblance to the lives we knew in our ‘family home’. We became lost, and then more lost as the years went on. Until we even forgot that we had become orphaned from a parent who was the best Father in the world.

And God, as any parent would, never gave up on us returning home and continued to search for us in the wilderness for years and years and years. And He is still searching for us today. And for those of us who want to hear,  who want to know, He is calling us. His patience is eternal. His cries are faint at first. But if we stop, and listen we can hear His voice.
It is time for His children to come home.

11 Responses to “we are all lost souls”

  1. Eddie October 10, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    I’m assuming the intention of this post covers all of humanity as the lost children that God is waiting to return. This is something that should be so obvious, yet I am still amazed that certain faith communities think that only ‘their’ group has a special relationship with God, and that God is therefore only waiting for that particular faith community to return. Perhaps they will concede that then it will be good for all people on earth, but I still believe God isn’t only waiting for one particular group to return, he is waiting for us all. I’m assuming that this intention was covered by the title “we are **all** lost souls”, but I just wanted to check, seeing as it is a matter of debate for some.

  2. insearchofdivinity October 10, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    Yes, all of humanity need to return to God BUT the flagbearers are the Jewish nation, fulfilling their role as a ‘nation of priests’ and we, the Jews, unfortunately have tuned out of God’s wavelength. The results are manifold, our souls burn from the fact that they are trapped in the ego, by the fact that we are denying our mission, which is to represent God here on earth.
    So yes, we are all lost souls. But if a person was given a prestigious job like a surgeon, for example in which he could help others as well as help himself instead decided and instead bummed around for a few year doing odd jobs and cleaning the streets, that is basically where we are at. There will be three geulot, one for the individual, one for the Jews and one for the other nations. All three are interconnected. The world cannot go through this process without all three.

    • Eddie October 10, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

      I’m not expecting you (the blog post author) to have all the answers (I don’t have them either), and I appreciate you writing your blog so that we all get to think about all things spiritual, but how do we REALLY know that the Jewish nation has a special responsibility. Personally, I wonder if this idea is another area in which the ego can creep in. Just as on the individual level the ego tries to find ways for us to be special or ‘more than’… isn’t it possible that it tries to accomplish the same goal by identifying our group identity as being ‘more than’ and having a special role.

      Yes, there are psukim (sentences) in the Torah referring to the Jewish nation as being ‘a light to the nationa’ or a ‘nation of priests’, but isn’t it convenient to read this at face value.

      Here’s an interpretation. The concept of the children of Israel in the Torah is a symbolic reference to someone who has achieved a certain level of consciousness (much like the biblical Jacob get’s renamed Israel after he has grappled with man and God). Perhaps, when God refers to the children of Israel as ‘chosen’, He is referring to the idea that He is looking for his people (all mankind) to be in the state symbolically referred to as Israel (i.e. spiritually advanced) — this is His preference, His choice, and His hope. And of course this will happen that we will all evolve, it is just a matter of time.

      Interestingly, Israel in Hebrew can be read as Yashar El (straight God). So perhaps the children of Israel, could be read as the children of the straight God (the people who believe that God is just, equally loving to all, not showing any favoritism).

      Thoughts?

      Eddie

      P.S. I’m sure other interpretations can be thought of also. I was just presenting one. Another interesting thought relating to the concept of Am Segulah… is that a modern Hebrew/English dictionary had one of the definitions of ‘segulah’ as ‘remedy’. Could it be possible that the idea of being special is actually a remedy to what ails humankind. e.g. for God to help us learn DEEP DOWN that He loves all people, he presents a situation where it looks like one nation has a special status. The energy we have to put into realizing this can’t be true, ensures that when we reach the truth of His equal love for all, that truth will be established so strongly within us that it will never be lost. Perhaps we can consider it like a vaccine (a remedy) (which interestingly is a tiny dose of the actual illness — in our case, a bit of ego that we have a special position)… and once our system has successfully fought the illness, we become immune to that problem. Just a thought. Perhaps we can’t really rely on a modern hebrew/english dictionary to analyze biblical hebrew…. but I’m just presenting some options to make us think. What does the ‘small voice inside’ say about the paths God has for us? Are we all loved the same? I guess it’s possible that He has different roles for different groups… but I think we should examine carefully whether we read in ‘specialness’ into that assignment. Thoughts?

      • insearchofdivinity October 10, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

        I asked and God showed me this chapter that I think answers all of your questions:
        Ezekiel 36
        New International Version (NIV)
        Hope for the Mountains of Israel

        36 “Son of man, prophesy to the mountains of Israel and say, ‘Mountains of Israel, hear the word of the Lord. 2 This is what the Sovereign Lord says: The enemy said of you, “Aha! The ancient heights have become our possession.”’ 3 Therefore prophesy and say, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Because they ravaged and crushed you from every side so that you became the possession of the rest of the nations and the object of people’s malicious talk and slander, 4 therefore, mountains of Israel, hear the word of the Sovereign Lord: This is what the Sovereign Lord says to the mountains and hills, to the ravines and valleys, to the desolate ruins and the deserted towns that have been plundered and ridiculed by the rest of the nations around you— 5 this is what the Sovereign Lord says: In my burning zeal I have spoken against the rest of the nations, and against all Edom, for with glee and with malice in their hearts they made my land their own possession so that they might plunder its pastureland.’ 6 Therefore prophesy concerning the land of Israel and say to the mountains and hills, to the ravines and valleys: ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: I speak in my jealous wrath because you have suffered the scorn of the nations. 7 Therefore this is what the Sovereign Lord says: I swear with uplifted hand that the nations around you will also suffer scorn.

        8 “‘But you, mountains of Israel, will produce branches and fruit for my people Israel, for they will soon come home. 9 I am concerned for you and will look on you with favor; you will be plowed and sown, 10 and I will cause many people to live on you—yes, all of Israel. The towns will be inhabited and the ruins rebuilt. 11 I will increase the number of people and animals living on you, and they will be fruitful and become numerous. I will settle people on you as in the past and will make you prosper more than before. Then you will know that I am the Lord. 12 I will cause people, my people Israel, to live on you. They will possess you, and you will be their inheritance; you will never again deprive them of their children.

        13 “‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Because some say to you, “You devour people and deprive your nation of its children,” 14 therefore you will no longer devour people or make your nation childless, declares the Sovereign Lord. 15 No longer will I make you hear the taunts of the nations, and no longer will you suffer the scorn of the peoples or cause your nation to fall, declares the Sovereign Lord.’”

        Israel’s Restoration Assured

        16 Again the word of the Lord came to me: 17 “Son of man, when the people of Israel were living in their own land, they defiled it by their conduct and their actions. Their conduct was like a woman’s monthly uncleanness in my sight. 18 So I poured out my wrath on them because they had shed blood in the land and because they had defiled it with their idols. 19 I dispersed them among the nations, and they were scattered through the countries; I judged them according to their conduct and their actions. 20 And wherever they went among the nations they profaned my holy name, for it was said of them, ‘These are the Lord’s people, and yet they had to leave his land.’ 21 I had concern for my holy name, which the people of Israel profaned among the nations where they had gone.

        22 “Therefore say to the Israelites, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: It is not for your sake, people of Israel, that I am going to do these things, but for the sake of my holy name, which you have profaned among the nations where you have gone. 23 I will show the holiness of my great name, which has been profaned among the nations, the name you have profaned among them. Then the nations will know that I am the Lord, declares the Sovereign Lord, when I am proved holy through you before their eyes.

        24 “‘For I will take you out of the nations; I will gather you from all the countries and bring you back into your own land. 25 I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your impurities and from all your idols. 26 I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. 27 And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws. 28 Then you will live in the land I gave your ancestors; you will be my people, and I will be your God. 29 I will save you from all your uncleanness. I will call for the grain and make it plentiful and will not bring famine upon you. 30 I will increase the fruit of the trees and the crops of the field, so that you will no longer suffer disgrace among the nations because of famine. 31 Then you will remember your evil ways and wicked deeds, and you will loathe yourselves for your sins and detestable practices. 32 I want you to know that I am not doing this for your sake, declares the Sovereign Lord. Be ashamed and disgraced for your conduct, people of Israel!

        33 “‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: On the day I cleanse you from all your sins, I will resettle your towns, and the ruins will be rebuilt. 34 The desolate land will be cultivated instead of lying desolate in the sight of all who pass through it. 35 They will say, “This land that was laid waste has become like the garden of Eden; the cities that were lying in ruins, desolate and destroyed, are now fortified and inhabited.” 36 Then the nations around you that remain will know that I the Lord have rebuilt what was destroyed and have replanted what was desolate. I the Lord have spoken, and I will do it.’

        37 “This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Once again I will yield to Israel’s plea and do this for them: I will make their people as numerous as sheep, 38 as numerous as the flocks for offerings at Jerusalem during her appointed festivals. So will the ruined cities be filled with flocks of people. Then they will know that I am the Lord.”

        This is a prophesy concerning the role of the Jewish nation and their fate in comparison to the fate of the nations in days to come.
        In terms of ‘a divine’ right, I feel this chapter contains the answer to. Our job, it is to make God’s name Holy amongst the nations. Your idea of ‘higher consciousness’ is not in direct contradiction with this. At the end of the day, God has the answers as to who is and who isn’t and how, not us.
        I still feel it’s important for us to remember that we do have a divine purpose that is different from that of the nations- is it because we are ‘higher’ or ‘more’? No, we are just different. It’s not something we wanted, nor was it something we asked for. That is the way God wants it.

  3. Eddie October 10, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    Hi,

    I still see what I was talking about in the passages you sent me…. and I will admit, that yes, this is what I want to see. However, that doesn’t necessarily make it untrue.

    I admit, my reading involves using the text symbolically, not on it’s face value… but I don’t see that as a major problem. The prophets saw things in symbol form, and their teachings could very well have been written down in symbol form also. Our subconscious uses symbols in our dreams — the objects in our dreams will quite often represent something else. I don’t see why God may not expect us / require us to look at the Torah symbolically. Especially, as He deals with us in a hidden way — We often have to FIND him. Yes, God makes sure we have ways to find him (like through meditation when we can sometimes feel that we hear him intuitively through the silence) — but those methods aren’t intuitive either. God created for us (at least in this iteration of our existence – post Adam’s sin) an environment where we are often scared, an environment where we feel we have to fight and protect ourselves. In this environment, God is mostly hidden, it is only when we do something that others aren’t doing (e.g. meditation) that we can access a feeling of connection to the divine. I would argue that the text of the Bible has layers of profound truth that require some level of interpretation…. some level of thinking “what do these stories symbolically mean for us?”.

    So to take part of your excerpt that you provided…. it does occur to me that Israel might refer to all those people (Jewish or not) that have reached a certain level of consciousness and a profound level of connection to God. For example, verse 10 below first says that God will cause “many people” to live on the mountains of Israel… and then says “yes, all of Israel”. What is that referring to… to say both “many people” AND “all of Israel” all in one sentence. If it just meant, all the Jews, let it only say “all of Israel”… why say “many people” AND “yes, all of Israel”? Could this be a hint that the Israel being referred to is actually made up of many people / many nations.

    Tanach excerpt follows…

    Ezekiel 36
    8 “‘But you, mountains of Israel, will produce branches and fruit for my people Israel, for they will soon come home. 9 I am concerned for you and will look on you with favor; you will be plowed and sown, 10 and I will cause many people to live on you—yes, all of Israel. The towns will be inhabited and the ruins rebuilt. 11 I will increase the number of people and animals living on you, and they will be fruitful and become numerous. I will settle people on you as in the past and will make you prosper more than before. Then you will know that I am the Lord. 12 I will cause people, my people Israel, to live on you. They will possess you, and you will be their inheritance; you will never again deprive them of their children.

    In reference to how you ended off…

    “I still feel it’s important for us to remember that we do have a divine purpose that is different from that of the nations- is it because we are ‘higher’ or ‘more’? No, we are just different.”

    I’m inclined to wonder “why would God want us to have different national purposes”? Is it only the Jews that have a different national purpose, but all the other nations of the world share the same purpose? Why should we rationally believe that? Did God not initially just create Adam. Those early families didn’t have a concept of different Nations. That concept only came onto the scene when humankind persisted on acting improperly against one another and against God. The fact that it was brought onto the scene after we sinned, to me, means that we need to get rid of that concept, to get back to the higher level of before we sinned.

    I also think that God leaves us some blueprints that we should consider along the lines of what He expects from us.

    With Adam and Eve. First there was just Adam, then God creates Eve out of part of Adam. The next thing he tells them is to become ‘one flesh’. The model is, we start of as one, God divides us in two, and then challenges us to come back to one.

    I believe the same is true with the concept of nations. As I said, at one point in our early history, there was no concept of different nations. At one point we were just God’s people, then God divides us up into different Nations… and then He tells us that he is looking for us to be “Am Echad Ba’aretz” (one nation on the land) — I’d need to find the source pasuk for this, but I’m sure you’re familiar with the concept.

    Anyway, those are my thoughts. The place I am coming from is wanting us to reach world peace. I just believe the longer we look around ourselves and label others as ‘other’, the longer we will continue to see each other as a threat, and the longer we will fight each other. The longer we fight each other, the longer we will have to wait for world peace. I’m wanting us to think about a complete consciousness shift… one in which we are all in this together as equals. I believe that World Peace could be within reach if we could want safety, security and prosperity for others just as much as we want it for ourselves. It’s kind of like the Golden Rule (Love your neighbor as yourself). Whatever you want for yourself, you should want for your neighbor too.

    Sorry that was a bit preachy. I’m just sharing my thoughts as part of the discussion.

    Thanks

    Eddie

  4. avrahambenemanuel October 11, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    In the beginning. Which beginning ? The Tanach starts with one of “Tohu wa bohu” and finishes the first chapter with Adam’s creation.

    The seeds which allowed the creation of evil were planted very early in the creation of this world. The godly gift of free will and choice come not cheaply. It given this world a price of suffering and evil which has not place in God’s world. Evil and will be eradicated at the end of time on the judgment day when the “earthy word” and “heavenly world” become one.

    We all know well (but never enough) that using the free will and choosing for what is good and right is, more often than not, messed up by the ego. For no matter how much one wants to be “good and right” usually that will also come from a egotistical source. Such without allowing Gods intervention into our free will, our egotistical self wins.

    The choosing of a person\tribe\race to help guide the world to this conscience place seemed unnecessary until Noah flood. But the world needed and still needs this guidance.

    The children of Israel have already suffered long enough from learning and now the days of there suffering is over. The people of the world need to learn. The judgment days are here.

    The curses that God gave to the children of Israel all happened. The blessing will also. These curses did not happen to the people of the world yet. The blessing to the world will happen when they also enter being Yisrael (straight with God).

    • Eddie October 11, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

      avrahambenemanuel

      Thank you for joining the discussion.

      I actually went to take a look at the Hebrew for Ezekiel 36 verse 10, which I found interesting based on the discussion above with insearchofdivinity.

      My Hebrew isn’t great, but translating the words word-for-word should be more like…

      36:10. And I will bring on you (the mountains of Israel) man, all of the house of Israel in it’s entirety. The towns will be inhabited and the ruins rebuilt.

      From that reading, to me, it even more sounds like a support for the notion that the concept of Israel has levels of meaning…. and that it is possible for the term Israel to refer to all of humanity. The statement that towns will be inhabited and that ruins will be rebuilt, to me, points to talking to a time when there is peace amongst people — we have stopped fighting. Might such a time be when we cease to separate mankind into different groups, perpetuating the idea of ‘us’ vs ‘them’. As the verse describes, at that time, it will just be ‘man’ that is brought to the mountains of Israel. I’m reading that as all of mankind.

      As I posted elsewhere on this blog, I don’t think it’s a coincidence that Gods phraseology not to worship idols is often in the form of “don’t worship the God’s of ***others*** (my emphasis)”. I’m reading that to mean: there is no such concept of ‘others’ as different to you. There is only mankind… the purpose of creation.

      • insearchofdivinity October 11, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

        Yes, but there’s one biggie that we haven’t covered yet. What about the land of Israel? How does that explain the phenomenen that the Jewish people (not the Nations, who occupied here one and off) were finally able to return home after 2000 years? Somehow, our land is inhabited by Jews, albeit some who do not understand why they are here and others who have to go through quite a bit of ‘cleansing’ so to speak. The prophesy of the neviim came true, and, worthy or not, spiritual or not, connected to God or not, we came back to the land of our heritage.
        This is a preparation for the next stage of geula, and we have a strong role in it.

  5. Eddie October 12, 2012 at 1:56 am #

    Hi insearchofdivinity,

    I’ll answer your question about the meaning of the people of Israel living in the land of Israel, as it relates to my understanding.

    Obviously, according to what I have expressed, there is two potential understandings of the people of Israel. Namely,

    1) The Jewish people as we know them – the people known as the Jews. This definition involves the concept of the Jewish nation as opposed to the other nations of the world.

    2) The people of Israel, as I chose to understand it, as being a symbolic representation in the bible of people that have reached a certain level of consciousness. As I mentioned earlier, this interpretation uses the concept of the Hebrew word for Israel, being able to be read as Yashar El (the straight God). So the people of Israel in this understanding, are the people who believe in the straight God – He is Just, He is Kind, He leads the world justly — He is straight. I believe the biblical patriarch Jacob getting renamed to Israel, after wrestling an angel, also supports the concept that the name Israel can symbolize the achievement of a certain level of spirituality.

    According to the first understanding of Israel, namely, the Jewish people as we know them today…. They are in the land of Israel, because, clearly, that is Hashem’s will. However, I don’t think we should become complacent just because the Jews are in the land of Israel. I think we have a long way to go. We’ve been in the land before. We’ve had the temple before, yet things have still gone awry. In my humble opinion, we are still waiting for a radical shift. This is where my second definition of the people of Israel comes in. This is a people that have reached a level of consciousness that they can say “God is just. He has acted correctly. All the troubles we have seen. We have brought them upon ourselves”. (and I would add here that it is because we have persisted in beliefs of ‘us vs. them’ causing us to fight each other throughout history. I believe this is primarily a result of following the ego, which is always looking for ‘more’ for us… or is trying to see ourselves as being more special — all people do this). So, when we (humankind) can reach a level of consciousness where we don’t fight any more and we realize that God wants to bless all people with a wonderful world, these are the people who can have the codename Israel applied to them. In time, I believe, this will apply to everyone. We are just waiting for all of us to evolve spiritually (myself included). In much the same way, the promised land, the land of Israel, is a reference to the place where people will be living when they have reached their heightened state of consciousness. They will see the land as ‘the land of the straight God’. The gift from a loving God. A land that is actually a paradise… we only mess it up with all of our fighting one to another. And here’s the kicker. In my view, this promised land, the land of Israel, the land of the straight God, was always beneath our feet. Yes, just as the people of Israel, ultimately, in my view, applies to the whole of mankind, so does the land of Israel ultimately refer to the whole world. If we can just stop our (all of our) mashugas (insanity) we can reach the goal we all want – peace on earth, and a paradise on earth.

    Is that too crazy that the land of Israel could ultimately be talking about the whole world? Check out point #3 of the following link:
    http://www.moshiach.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=46&Itemid=30

    I don’t know that my thinking is right…. but what kills me is that if I am right, we can have world peace now… we just have to evolve and learn to love instead of learn to hate.

    • insearchofdivinity October 12, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      Eddie if you get time read carefully Jeremiah 33 9-the end of the chapter. I think the answer to your questions about the Jewish people/nation is there. Shabbat Shalom

      • Eddie October 14, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

        Hi ISOD,

        I took a look at the chapter you referred me to, but I wasn’t sure what exactly you were suggesting I reflect on. Can you be more specific?

        Anyway, I’ll respond more in a couple of days. I have a project due by end of day tomorrow (Monday) so I have to put my attention there for now.

        Also, I wasn’t really posing a question, I was offering an option for us to think about (myself included). It’s something I personally am thinking about, because, to me, it more easily highlights God as an incredibly loving Being, designing this world as a system by which we will all evolve, and ultimately all experience His love. To my mind, the concept of the people of Israel, is God’s way of expressing what he hopes (or has planned) for His people (all of humanity). When we do what’s right, we’ll live in a promised land (the Earth, in a form that will seem like paradise), and we’ll be completely free of war and fighting between people.

        Best wishes

        Eddie

Leave a Reply

