Achdus is a word that’s a bit like ‘sorry’

7 Oct

I’m getting a bit fed up of this word ‘achdut’ or ‘achdus’ or whatever you want to call it. It’s one of those cheap words, a bit like ‘sorry’ that is overused, overrated and, in essence meaningless.

When religious people talk about achdus, in the main they are referring to achdus between the warring religous right and left ‘as long as you’re wearing a kippah on your head’. They disclude the large disenfranchised secular majority. Or if they mention them, they would group them together with ‘baalei teshuva’ or perhaps, ‘pre-baalei teshuva’.

There is a reason why this is so. The fundamental problem of religiosity is the basic precept that those who do not practise it are wrong. The same way as the Arabs don’t like to label certain individuals as terrorists, the religious don’t want to label certain people as WRONG because it’s not politically correct. They don’t think it’s OK for a person to be secular because, after all, they are doing the right thing, the only thing.

So how can there be achdus with people who are wrong? There isn’t. There’s a skirting around issues, a certain level of airbrushing the proverbial elephant in the room and there’s this airy fairy use of the word ‘achdus’.

Well, people have you ever considered that the whole mess you’re in can never be solved by achdus? What about introspection? What about a good, deep look at what’s really driving you in your will to do good to your fellow man?

3 Responses to “Achdus is a word that’s a bit like ‘sorry’”

  1. Eddie November 3, 2013 at 4:31 am #

    ISOD, keep on digging. I respect your courage to write about what upsets you. I agree with the sentiments of your post, except perhaps pointing out that the concepts of ‘achdus’ and ‘sorry’ may actually be good things in and of themselves. It’s the apparent meaning that people are currently putting to the words (through their actions) that, at least in my mind, cheapens them or makes them problematic.

    I would love there to be ‘achdus’, but an ‘achdus’ that recognizes the brotherhood/sisterhood of every human being on the planet. If there is a God who made me (and I’d like to believe who loves me), isn’t that same God likely responsible for creating the person next to me (whoever they are — despite my perception of them as right or wrong, or friend or foe). Doesn’t it make sense that as God’s creation, God probably loves them too?

    It is my belief that our problems are man-made. We create our enemies, because we fear that if God or others can love ‘the other’ then we can’t be loved ourselves (since we are not like them). I believe it is a fallacy. It is my hope that one day we will all be able to see ourselves in ‘the other’… and come to see that we are all indeed brothers and sisters, all believing in a false reality (that you have to be a certain way in order to be accepted and worthy of love). ISOD, as my brother/sister seeking truth I want to encourage you to continue your quest. You are a wonderful human being. I appreciate your courage to tackle very hard topics. Personally, I must admit, I’m still on the side-lines… so I appreciate your courage to write from the heart.

    My blessings to you.

    Eddie

    • insearchofdivinity November 3, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

      thanks Eddie,

      I believe that God does have something to do with all of this. The solution will not just be man-made. God wants us to be rid of our egos, wherever they may be taking us and only he can help us do this. Part of the process is for us to realize how horribly lost we are and then to give our useless selves back to Him. There is a process and there will be a process that is in a sense metaphysical which ultimately will lead to our final tikkun and a revelation of what we need to know. We are working constantly in partnership with Him, but the extent to which He intervenes depends on how much we with to give ourselves to Him.
      I can only say that God gave me the strength, will and understanding to really see what was going on and now I’m not there any more, I feel so much more enlightened and happier. There are just layers upon layers of lies – the lies we are told, the lies we tell ourselves and the lies we create for others; it is only when you free yourself of previous suppositions that you can start to disentangle yourself from all of this. Nonetheless, our egos are always looming somewhere in the background and we just have to remind ourselves that we are no better than the next person around.
      I’m so glad you were in touch. Good luck on your journey. I hope it takes you to where you need to go.
      ISOD

      • Eddie November 4, 2013 at 2:43 am #

        Thanks ISOD,

        In general I think we are on the same page. However, I don’t feel the need to consider ourselves useless, or to put ourselves down while we are learning to get rid of our egos. I think it is just part of the process that God expected. I believe God has set up a world where we will all learn our lessons eventually (possibly after several reincarnations)… but while we are getting it wrong, we are just misguided, as opposed to something undesirable, or unworthy.

        I believe we each have a spark of the divine within us. As such, we are all incredibly worthy and amazing individuals. We just need to learn to see the divinity within ourselves and within everyone else. To my mind, when we can’t see this, we are just suffering from an illusion that people are different — that some are good and some are bad. As far as I know, we are all the same intrinsically (each of us having this divine spark), but the pain we see in the world, and the perceived ‘goodness’ and ‘badness’ of individuals and groups, is just a reflection of our collective blindness to the good within everyone (including ourselves).

        That’s my 2 cents. Of course, I am still trying to live according to the understanding I just shared. Believing it intellectually and being able to live it in reality without being reactive to peoples ‘mistakes’ is quite another story. Still, I’m trying :-).

        Keep up the good work.

        Best wishes

        Eddie

Leave a Reply

