vanity, vanity, all is…..

17 Dec

The first thing one must remember is to listen. God only speaks to those whose ears are open and ready to hear. Anger, pride, jealousy, greed….all stem from a type of ‘cutting off of the senses’ in order to pursue something egotistical.

The second thing to remember is that idol worship  comes in more forms than the obvious. ANYTHING we put before God is an idol. My motherly ego, for example is an idol. If my motherly pride is hurt, my pain is nothing more than a hurt ego. It cannot go in front of God or I will be blown off course.

The third thing to remember is to always be on the lookout. Our world is full of illusions. We elude ourselves into the belief that giving more of ourselves will result in a better world. God directs us as to when to give, when to take and when to hold back and wait. I pray that I do not walk into a fairy tale world of giving of myself in exchange for worthless goods.

Our life is a constant journey of self-discovery. The more of ourselves we discover, the more we must be willing to put in front of God and to say ‘that’s not me.’

Leave a Reply

